Amazing Bus Trip to Luang Prabang – Part 1

title-copy

Right! I was back after the 5 days and 6 nights of my trip to Luang Prabang. From Bangkok to Nongkhai, Thailand; crossing Thailand and Laos borders by the first friendship bridge; traveling from Vientiane to Luang Prabang via one stop in Vang Vieng and the return trip vice versa without stopping  in Vang Vieng – The total round trip distance is approximately 2,070 kilometers. It was not the longest road trip distance I have ever made. But it became the longest bus trip for me at least by now.

Mo Chit Bus Station

Mo Chit Bus Station

 

My journey was started on last Tuesday in the evening. I departed from Mo Chit, the north eastern bus station, with a bit unusual atmosphere as Bangkok’s political situation at that time. 

Should I feel secure?

Should I feel secure?

A VIP 24 seats bus was a choice. Overall bus service was quite good. A quick meal box for dinner, a snack box for breakfast and a bottle of water and a cold handkerchief were served. A seat size was big enough to comfort a passenger who was going to travel up to 9-10 hours. In fact, I thought its size is bigger than a business class seat of some airlines. I paid 750 bath (apprx. US$22) on this.

My feet of the first leg

VIP Bus

Inside

Inside

Heading to Nong Khai and aiming to cross Thai-Laos Friendship Bridge, I arrived to Nong Khai Bus Station in early morning of the next day. A Thai-Laos International Bus Service of the route between Nong Khai – Vientiane which was firstly operated in early 2004 made my crossing both countries borders much easier.

International Bus

International Bus

 

A bus schedule is set off in every two hours. I took the first round at 0730am. A bus was full by local Thai and Laos people and of course some tourists like me. I was curious that there did not have foreign tourists, though.

Timetable

Timetable

 

A distance between Nong Khai to Vientaine is actaully not too far, approximately 30 kilometers. Anyhow, Immigration processes at two ports could cause traveling times. It took me 2 hours for the immigration processes and traveling on the bus on that day.

Quite roomy

Quite roomy

Thai Immigration

Thai Immigration

Laos Port

Laos Port

Crossing Thai-Laos Friendship Bridge

Crossing Thai-Laos Friendship Bridge

The international bus stopped at Talad Chao (Morning Market) Bus Station. I then took a jumbo car (tuktuk) to the Northern Bus Station which is about 8 kilometers far away.

Jumbo (TukTuk)

Jumbo (TukTuk)

At the Northern bus station, in fact, there is a bus station of the Southern route also, I caught an express local bus which directly runs to Vang Vieng – my first stop of the entire trip to Luang Prabang.

Multi-nationality in the bus

Multi-nationalities

Umm, same destination

Umm, same destination

Hmm, next trip to Kunming, China??

Hmm, next trip to Kunming, China??

Listened to my top-rated songs on iPod, took many naps on the on and off air-condition bus and had the sticky rice with grilled pork sticks I bought from Nong Khai market for lunch, finally the bus reached to Vang Vieng in late afternoon after taking 4 hours for 160 kilometers distance!! Although, I still had more than 200 kilometers to go but after 18 hours passed since I left Bangkok, I really wanted to rest on a mattress!!

Wooden hut for tonight

Wooden hut for tonight

 

 

7 Responses to Amazing Bus Trip to Luang Prabang – Part 1

  1. doremereme says:

    The VIP bus looks really comfortable. Yeah, the seat might be bigger than the seat in some airlines biz class. oh, any air-conditioned in the wooden hut?

  2. doremereme says:

    Is the ad. joking? Laos to Kunming is a really long way, probably needs to take a week or more than a week for the roadtrip.

  3. leolaksi says:

    Really interesting posting and I love the photo of the soldiers. Can’t wait for pt. 2. Very good photos.

  4. foofookie says:

    A room comes with no air-con but a private bathroom. I paid apprx. 15usd for one night. No need to air-con especially during the period of Nov-Jan in Vang Vieng. Temperature there was about 19-20C at night.

    No, it isn’t a joke for a bus Vientiane-Kunming, DoReMe. It’s a sleeping bus which is definitley more comfortable than the bus I took. But, yeah it will be very very long bus trip, i bet!

  5. foofookie says:

    Thanks a lot, Leo. Well, I did feel quite weird when I saw the soilders…kinda, umm had the situation been developing really?

  6. grayman says:

    The friendship bridge photo could be a post card. You captured the feel of this part of the trip, especially the hut!

  7. Ubiquinol Reviews…

    […]Amazing Bus Trip to Luang Prabang – Part 1 « Make It Worth…by foofookie[…]…

Leave a Reply

