Crumpler “5 Million Dollar Home” camera bag

A short review of my crumpler “Five Million Dollar Home” camera bag;  I was looking for a shoulder camera bag a few months ago.  Well, my own requirement was a bit fussy.  I didn’t want a camera bag that looked like a camera bag!! (how does that sound?). I wanted a shoulder bag that it is not too big and not too small. And it would have to fit well for my Canon 450D body, its accessories and probably has a room for another lens. I did google and look at many brands manufactured a camera bag such as Lowepro, Tamrac, Kata or even local brands. But it seemed like none of them answered my ridiculous criteria, not looks like a camera bag – what I meant is that it should be stylish, not such a traditional camera bag design.

Until I recalled that ‘LeoLaksi‘ used to review a camera backpack branded Crumpler, so I searched to find its website and checked out thier products. There is one family of shoulder camera bag named “Million Dollar Home” which has several dimensions in order to serve all kinds of capacity required. When I saw its design, I was like..yes! this is what a camera bag that doesn’t look like a camera bag that I was looking for. I was fancy to the 5 Million Dollar Home as its size seemed to be suitable to my equipements.  

I found a bit problem to getting the bag. There does not have the Crumpler shop or counter in Thailand. The nearest location is in Singapore. So, I had to ask one of my good friends to buy it for me from there.  I was at the fifty-fifty satisfication to getting the bag as I didn’t had a chance to look at a real bag and carefully consider in details.

Finally, I got it a month ago (well, it was just in time before my trip to Laos). When I firstly saw it in a real one, I must say that  I was satisfied by its design indeed. For me, it looks awesome. You wouldn’t even think its a camera bag by just looking at it.

Shoulder strap and carry handle

Front side with shoulder strap and carry handle

Top view

Top view

Look at inside

Look at inside

Front side pocket

Front side pocket

* All photographs taken by iPhone.

Overview: The bag has met all my requirements so far. It has two release flaps to turn the inside of the bag into 3 compartments. I can put a lens on one end, then my DSLR camera sits face down with a lens at the middle comparment and other accessories such as a charger, a small blower and all cables in the last compartment. On the front there is a pocket where I can keep my point and shoot camera, USB card reader and iPod camera connector. In the top, I can throw in the SD memory cards or even my wallet into a zipper mesh pocket.

It is only one negative thing for me about this bag. It is the velcro release flap which is really noisy when I open the bag. Someone may like it as it is good to keep your camera saftly and not easily fall out. But it is really annoyed me and because I like to keep it quietly and unnoticeable when I grab my camera for any shots.

13 Responses to Crumpler “5 Million Dollar Home” camera bag

  1. Looks interesting! I have similar criteria of choosing a bag as you did. will cruise around Crumpler website for now.

    Thanks! 😀

    Leo’s Lowepro beltbag is also interesting. I want to see a real one first.

  2. leolaksi says:

    Good review Foo Foo!

  3. Nice one – but why not experiment wth covering the front velcro closure with sticky tape, felt, or a section of loop – velcro, till you are happy with the quieter sound – or even no sound. In the latter instance you’ll have to rely on the clip for closure 🙂 BBB)))

  4. foofookie says:

    Thanks for your suggestion, BBB. What you said is exactly what I’ve been doing to work around currently 😉 I bought a set of velcro flap and used only its single part to partially cover the velcro patch at the top of the zipper mesh pocket. So I’m now quite happy with this Million Dollar!!

  5. […] Yes…yes..yes, I’ve already gotten one of the Crumpler Million Dollar Home series – The Five Million Dollar Home. […]

  6. Xingyuan says:

    Question for you — what lens do you have attached to the XSi body, and how much room is left in the bag for another lens?

  7. foofookie says:

    Hi Xingyuan, it’s a 18-55mm lens kit attached to my Canon 450D. I bought them as a package set. So far I can carry the 450D attached its len kit, the Canon 24-105mm f/4 L IS lens and the Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens with the 5MDH.

    I’d say that it’s quite comfy to throw a DLSR body and attached lens, a middle-size zoom lens and a short length lens into the bag. And even so, you still have some spaces left for camera accesorries.

  8. Shasta says:

    I’ve just ordered one of these and hoping my D700 and its grip will fit. I’m only looking for the camera to fit and maybe a flash unit, if that. I have a full Kata 103 bag when I need to carry much more.

  9. […] reviews of my Five and Six Million Dollar Home Bags. Here are my two previous postings of them, 5MDH and 6MDH. Consequently, I got a few questions asked about the size different of these two bags and […]

  10. Rachel says:

    There’s actually a new version of the Million Dollar Home bags, if you didn’t know. They have velcro silencers which cover the velcro if you want to be able to open the bag quietly.

    😀

  11. Camera Bags For Women…

    […]Crumpler “5 Million Dollar Home” camera bag « Make It Worth…by foofookie[…]…

  12. Leona says:

    I personally think this specific article , “Crumpler 5
    Million Dollar Home camera bag Make It Worthby foofookie”,
    fairly enjoyable and also it was in fact a terrific read.
    Thanks for your time-Wade

  13. Elisabeth says:

    You post interesting content here. Your blog deserves much more visitors.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know very useful
    tool that can help you, just type in google: svetsern traffic tips

Leave a Reply

