Royal Palace Museum, Luang Prabang

Built as a residence for King Sisavang Vong and his family in 1904 by the French. The palace was built on the riverfront, to be in direct view of arriving official visitors. Displaying traditional Laos motifs fused with French beaux-art styles, many of the rooms have been preserved since the day of the revolution when the royal family was forced into exile by the Pathet Lao.

I didn’t plan to get the Day and Night Photograph Collection of the Royal Palace at first. Because of there is usually closed at 1600pm. However, I was walking along the main street of Sisavang Wong at the first evening I arrived to Luang Prabang, I saw its entrance was still opened. I then walked in and made some quick shots. I was afraid that a guard may come to me and kick me out, though. But there wasn’t any. I visited there again in the afternoon of my last day in Luang Prabang. So, this day and night collection is kind of unplanned operation.

The Rayal Palace (Haw Kham), Day Time

The Rayal Palace (Haw Kham) - Daytime

The Royal Palace (Haw Kham), Early evening

The Royal Palace (Haw Kham) - Early evening

The New Pavilion (How Prabang) - Daytime

The New Pavilion (How Prabang) - Daytime

The New Pavilion (Haw Prabang) - Early Evening

The New Pavilion (Haw Prabang) - Early evening

Leave a Reply

