Overland Birding Trip in Cambodia

I still insist that I am not a birdwatcher. I know very little which bird is what bird. I rarely touch and use binoculars. A DSLR camera stills be my arms when I do a trip. Anyhow, for whatever reason it looks like my fate is leading me to involve more and more to birding.

location-map1Last week I had a chance to travel with one of Thai birdwatcher groups to Cambodia. A trip purpose was seeing birds, the Eastern Sarus Crane at Ang Trapeang Thmor (Sarus Crane Reserve) and the Bengal Florican at Kompong Thom Grasslands; both locations are near Siem Reap.

The trip was for 2 days 1 night by a car starting from Bangkok to Aranyapathet-Poipet Border Checkpoint (Thailand/Cambodia Border), crossing the border, heading to the birding locations in daytime and staying overnight in Siem Reap.

Our group arrived at Poipet around 8:30am. After passing through the Immigration stations, we got on the 4WD vehicles which were our feet throughout the trip.

Welcome to Cambodia

Welcome to Cambodia

Thailand Immigration

Thailand Immigration

Cambodia Immigration

Cambodia Immigration

Two of our four vehicles

Two of our four vehicles

The road condition in Cambodia is better than what I expected. It looks like new sealed roads which have been done and used recently. It is really good till I thought that a warning about the poor road condition in Cambodia is too much. I enjoyed sitting in air-conditioned vehicle that was running in a speed 80 k.m. per hour. It was smooth riding until I was sleepy and fallen asleep.

Road condition from Poipet to Siem Reap

Road condition from Poipet to Siem Reap

Road view thru a windshield

Road view thru a windshield

Well, once the vehicle led us to the sub-routes heading to the Sarus Crane Reserve area, it was such a different world/road condition!! There is not called as a road to me actually. What does it look like?? Let me show you here…

Drive into the field

Drive into the field

Are we in the Africa?

Are we in the Africa?

Amphibious operation

Amphibious operation

Where do we go from here??

Where do we go from here??

One Response to Overland Birding Trip in Cambodia

  1. […] getting into the Sarus Crane area (In case you don’t know that, please see my previous post – Overland Birding Trip), once we arrived to the location it was very lucky moment. The cranes were about to get down on […]

Leave a Reply

