Angkor Temples – the Great Explorer in Siem Reap, Cambodia

“See Angkor Wat and Die”, the speech of Arnold Throby, English’s historian and archeologist, describe how great and grandiose is the Angkor Wat.  There are so many words and phrases that people say about the Angkor Wat. And those could inspire lots of travelers and tourists making their journey to the one of the new Seven Wonders of the World.  

Recently I did travel to Siem Reap, Cambodia again after my first trip to the town in last few month ago.  I did not have a chance to visit the Angkor Temples at that time. I then expected that I could have a chance to see the temples during my second visit. Lucky, this time I stayed at a hotel which is not too far from the Angkor Temples. Thus, my friends and I managed ourselves to explore the magnificent archaeological monuments in very early morning and some days in late afternoon.

Bayon1

TaProhm1

Angkor literally means “city”, the Khmer kings built their successive capitals and ruled over the greatest empire Southeast Asia has ever known.  For more than 600 years, from the early 9th century to when it was finally abandoned in 1431 in the face of Thai onslaughts, Angkor was the heart of a rich and sophisticated civilization.

AngkorWatEastGate

I will be posting more on the Angkor Temples. Please stay tuned and I hope you will enjoy the great explorer here.

AngkorWat&Monks

6 Responses to Angkor Temples – the Great Explorer in Siem Reap, Cambodia

  1. csm2mk says:

    I was thinking of going there… bu then I think I have decided to go to Laos instead… and then I saw your blog… and then… ufff… ;))

  2. foofookie says:

    i aslo have some postings of my overland trip to Laos in last November. you can check them out. well, go to both! 😉 thanks for visiting my blog.

  3. iheartfilm says:

    I so wanna go there. On my list of places I have to see before I bite the dust.

  4. foofookie says:

    Hi iheartfilm, my own speech.. I’d say that “See Angkor Temples and Alive. 🙂

  5. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this website’s content all the time along with a mug of coffee.

  6. My brother recommended I may like this web site.
    He was once totally right. This publish actually made my day.
    You can not consider simply how so much time I had spent for this info!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

